Revista Latina

Noticias - 2010

Project Censored September of 2010 - Spanish Version

 

Dear Project Censored Universities and Colleges,

Effective this year all participating colleges and universities will have equal status in nominating and selecting the final top 25 censored news stories for the annual 2011 yearbook scheduled for release in September of 2010.

The Spring 2010 story nominations and selection schedule is as follows:

Nominations Accepted Until Friday April 10—send in nominations early for priority posting. Nominations for most important censored news story of the year must be submitted in the Validated Independent News (VIN) format. See samples at: http://www.mediafreedominternational.org/ and below.

Campuses should submit at least five VIN news stories in order to participate in the vote. News stories published in print or on-line (radio and TV transcripts accepted) during the thirteen-month period between March 2009 and March 2010 are eligible.

All participating colleges and university professors and their classes are eligible to vote on the nominated VIN stories during the week of April 12-16. Each campus will submit a ranked list of their choices for the top 25 most important censored news stories of the year. All campus votes will be of equal status and merged for the final selection.

If your news story is selected for inclusion in the Censored 2011 yearbook you will be invited to write by May 7 the 800-word synopsis for publication.

You can signup for opening posting on the MFI site through our webmaster Adam Armstrong
(californiaadam@yahoo.com) or you can edit your student’s work and send it directly to us
for posting.

Additionally, the Censored 2011 writing team with Media Freedom Foundation is accepting chapter proposals for this year’s book. Contact us as soon if you are interested in submitting a chapter proposal.

The Media Freedom Foundation/Project Censored board of Directors has recently appointed a new director of Project Censored. Mickey Huff—co-editor of Censored 2010 and professor of History at Diablo Valley College is now director of Project Censored/Media Freedom Foundation.

Welcome to the new inclusive international Project Censored.

Peter Phillips
President, Media Freedom Foundation/Project Censored
Peter.phillips@sonoma.edu

Mickey Huff
Director, Project Censored/Media Freedom Foundation
mickeyhuff@mac.com
SAMPLE VIN

Florida Imprisons Black Children for Life

There are 73 children, 14 and younger, who have been imprisoned for life without parole Florida. 84 percent of prisoners in Flordia are black, and African American youths are serving life without parole 10 times that of white youths. For the age 13 and younger, there are nine kids serving life in prison including both homicide and non-homicide

In the 90's there was the myth of the “super predator” which was introduced as packs of mostly Black and Latino kids who were “wilding” or being rowdy and said to be the new breed of criminal. What people didn't know was that by stereotyping these packs of minority kids as the “super predator” they created a monsterous stereotype that led to many faulty arrests.

One of the key persons who created the idea of the “super predator” was John DiIulio, a professor at Princeton, who stated he was wrong, but still many groups of black teens were targeted, arrested, and paid for the mistake.

Title: Ugly Truth Most U.S. Kids Sentenced to Die In Prison Are Black

Author: Liliana Segura

Source: Alternet.org, 11/11/09

URL:

http://www.alternet.org/rights/143776/ugly_truth:_most_u.s._kids_sentenced_to_die_in_prison_are_black

Student Researcher: Garet West

Faculty Evaluator: Peter Phillips

SAMPLE DIRECTIONS FOR VIN RESEARCH FOR STUDENTS

Independent Media Political News Analysis

Students will read political news stories from Independent media each week.
Sources: Daily News at: http://mediafreedom.pnn.com/5174-independent-news-sources

Validated News & Research at: http://www.mediafreedominternational.org/

Daily Censored Blog at: http://dailycensored.com/

Come to class prepared each week to talk about political news stories in the independent media. Students will complete one news analysis portfolio of a political news story that was not covered in the mainstream corporate media.

Content of a News Analysis Portfolio: Original Copy of Your Story, Search History and results, Summary of consultation with a faculty evaluator, 150 word synopsis of your news story that explains the authors major points and key issues

Story Research Report Format Samples at:
http://mediafreedom.pnn.com/5174-independent-news-sources

Synopsis: Use third person objective style for the synopsis.  Focus on what, where, when, how and why for the synopsis. Include the title of the article, author’s name, publication source, date, and URL. Print out a hard copy for inclusion in your portfolio and e-mail an electronic copy to instructor.

Initial Media Coverage Search to Determine that the news story was not in the corporate media. Goggle the Title of the Story: If it appeared in a major US newspaper, stop and find another story

Secondary Verification of non-corporate media coverage using Lexis/Nexis Selecting search terms: Write down key words and phrases that are important and unique to this story (these will be your search terms when you begin your search on Lexis/Nexus). These are nouns (persons, places and things) that the story could not be written without. Some examples might include the name of an individual, or a specific location name.

Lexis/Nexis is available through the Library Homepage.
Go to the SSU Library Homepage
Click on Research Articles & More
Click on Data Base Subject—News
Click on Lexis/Nexis Academic
Enter Search Terms
Select Major US, TV, and Wire
Click on “Previous two years”

 If your story received front-page coverage in a major paper, NY Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, and/or on TV news read the story/transcript completely to make sure important information has not be left out.  If your story is adequately covered in the corporate media then stop and find another story to search.

Is this an accurate and important news story? To help answer these question you are to consult with a faculty advisor. You can ask any college faculty member or professional person with expertise in the filed to help review your story. Have your advisor read the news story and get back to you with questions to research or concerns about the accuracy or completeness of the story. Record results of the advisor interview in writing in your portfolio.

Current Affiliates/Invited Effective Spring  2010

1. Mickey Huff,  mickeyhuff@mac.com, Diablo Valley College

2. Rob Williams, robw@acmecoalition.org, Champlain College

3. Natalie P. Byfield, byfieldn@stjohns.edu, St. John's University, Jamaica, NY 11439

4. Carl Bybee, bybee@uoregon.edu, University of Oregon

5. Brian Murphy, bmm@niagara.edu, Niagara University

6. Kevin Howley, khowley@depauw.edu, DePauw University

7. Tom Huckin, tomhuckin@comcast.net, University of Utah

8. Bryan Sacks: bksacks@yahoo.com, Immaculata University

9. Michelle Ronda, mronda@mmm.edu, Marymount Manhattan College, NY

10. Stephanie A. Flores-Koulish, sfloreskoulish@loyola.edu, Loyola College in Maryland

11. Julie Andrzejewski, jrandrzejewski@stcloudstate.edu, St. Cloud State University

12. Patricia Gibbs Stayte, GibbsPatricia@fhda.edu, Foothill College, CA

13. Christina Knopf, knopfcm@potsdam.edu, SUNY Potsdam

14. Kathleen de Azevedo Feinblum, feinblumk@smccd.net, Skyline College, CA

15. Victoria Johnson, johnsonvi@missouri.edu, University of Missouri-Columbia

16. William Dinan, william.dinan@strath.ac.uk, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow

17. James F. Tracy, jftracy@fau.edu, Florida Atlantic University

18. William Du Bois, dubois@itctel.com, Southwest Minnesota State University

19. Duane Macha, MATCHA@siena.edu, Siena College

20. Elliot Cohen, elliotdcohen2@gmail.com, Indian River State College

21. Jaime Becker, jsbecker@ucdavis.edu, University of San Francisco

22. Peggy Lopipero-Langmo, plopiper@ccsf.edu or peggylangmo@rcn.com, City College of San
Francisco

23. Linda Bowen, linda.s.bowen@csun.edu, California State University Northridge

24. Denny Bozman-Moss, dennyssusrjc@yahoo.com and Michael Apapicio
maparicio@empirereport.org, Santa Rosa Junior College

25. Nancy Gallagher, Gallagher@history.ucsb.edu, UC Santa Barbara

27. Ken Burrows, kburrows@sonic.net,  San Francisco State University

28. Robin Takahashi, Ohlone College class, 70angelwings@sbcglobal.net

29. John Sullivan,  Lora Taub-Perwzpour , David Tafler, sullivan@muhlenberg.edu,
ltaub@muhlenberg.edu, dtafler@muhlenberg.edu Muhlenberg College

30. Peter Ludes,  p.ludes@jacobs-university.de,  Jacobs University, Germany

Tobias Koher, t.kohler@jacobs-university.de

31. Horst Pottker, horst.poettker@tu-dortmund.de, Dortmund University, Germany

Mariam Bunjes, mib@miriam-bunjes.de

32. Ann Strahn, astrahm@csustan.edu, CSU Stanislaus

33. Eileen Meehen, meehan@siu.edu, , Southern Illinois University Carbondale

34. James Compton, jcompto3@uwo.ca,  University of Western Ontario

35. Michael Niman, nimanmi@buffalostate.edu,  Buffalo State University

36. Kevin Wehr, kwehr@csus.edu, CSU Sacramento

37. Sine anahita, sine.anahita@uaf.edu, University of Alaska Fairbanks

38. James Wittbols, jhw@uwindsor.ca,  University of Windsor

39. James Tracy, JFTracy@fau.edu, Florida Atlantic University

40. Rosemay Powers, rpowers@facstaff.eou.edu, Eastern Oregon University
Bill Grisby, bgrigsby@eou.edu

41. John Duvall, jduvall@dominican.edu, Dominican University

42. Andy Opel, andrew.opel@comm.fsu.edu , Florida State University

43. Marla Donata, marladonato@sbcglobal.net,  Columbia College

44. José Manuel de Pablos, jpablos@ull.es, Universidad de La Laguna - Canary Islands

45. Rainer Giebler, geissler@soziologie.uni-siegen.de, Siegen University, Germany

Andreas Hetzer, Andreas.Hetzer@uni-siegen.de

46. María del Carmen Cevallos, mcevallos@ciespal.net, Centro Internacional de Estudios Superiores de Comunicación para América Latina, Ecuador

47. Peter Phillips and Ben Frymer, Peter.phillips@sonoma.edu, bfrymer@gmail.com, Sonoma State University
.